Usted está aquí


UNESCO ICT in education prize: Call for nominations open to projects ensuring inclusive access to digital education content through public platforms

ⓒ Bell Ka Pang/


The UNESCO King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize for the use of ICT in education is now accepting candidatures. The theme of the 2022 edition is the use of public platforms to ensure inclusive access to digital education content.


The 2022 edition builds on the conclusions of the Transforming Education Summit (TES), held in September 2022 during the United Nations General Assembly. At the summit, participating States reaffirmed that digital technologies should not widen but reduce learning gaps. To realize the common vision, the Call to Action: Assuring and improving quality public digital learning for all, launched during the Summit, underlines three keys, namely content, capacity, and connectivity, to unlock the power of digital teaching and learning, rendering it more universally accessible and a more reliable pillar of holistic educational experiences.


Within this context, the Prize will reward projects that have made digital learning platforms and digital content more accessible, as well as those that have promoted universal connectivity in education and the development of digital competencies for all teachers and learners.


Two winners will be selected by the Director-General of UNESCO based on the recommendations of an international Jury, and each winner will receive a reward of US$ 25,000, a diploma, and international recognition during an award ceremony to be held at UNESCO Headquarters.


Who can apply?


Any individual, institution, or non-governmental organization (NGO) with an established ongoing project (at least for 1 year) relevant to the specific theme of the year i.e. the use of public platforms to ensure inclusive access to digital education content.


How to apply?


For the application to be considered, it should be nominated by either the National Commission of the UNESCO Member State or an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.


All applicants are encouraged to get in touch with the NGO or National Commission ahead of the application process. Self-nominations will not be accepted.


Governments of UNESCO Member States as well as NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO are invited to elicit and nominate up to three projects, which are in line with the 2022 theme and meet the selection criteria.


Details of the selection process and applications can be found on the Prize webpage.


The deadline for nominations is 23 January 2023 (midnight, Paris time).


For more information, please contact